Criminal Charges – Burglary

Criminal Charges – Burglary

| Mar 22, 2021 | Criminal Defense

Have you been charged with the crime of burglary in the State of Minnesota? This blog post is going to look at the way the state of Minnesota treats the crime of burglary including the differences between the charges and possible punishments. Read on for a better understanding of what you have been charged with and how Thooft Law can help you.

Under Minnesota statute 609.582, burglary is defined as entering a building without consent and with the intent to commit a crime, or entering a building without consent and committing a crime while in the building.

Burglary in the First Degree

The definition mentioned above is burglary in the first degree.

  • Maximum prison sentence: 20 years
  • Maximum fine: $35,000

There is a potential for both punishments if one of the following three enhancements listed in the statute occur during the burglary:

Burglary in the Second Degree

Burglary in the second degree is the same as burglary in the first degree but also covers entering a government/religious/historic/school building.

  • Maximum prison sentence: 10 years
  • Maximum fine: $20,000

Again, you could receive both penalties if one of the following four special exceptions listed in the statute applies:

Burglary in the Third Degree

Burglary in the third degree is a little more basic in the sense that an individual just enters a building without consent and with intent to steal or commit any felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building, or enters a building without consent and steals or commits a felony or gross misdemeanor while in the building.

  • Maximum prison sentence: 5 years
  • Maximum fine: $10,000

Burglary in the Fourth Degree

On the other hand, burglary in the fourth degree is entering a building without consent and with intent to commit a misdemeanor other than to steal, or enters a building without consent and commits a misdemeanor other than to steal while in the building

  • Maximum prison sentence: 1 year
  • Maximum fine: $3,000

If you are charged with burglary, you are potentially looking at some serious consequences which is why having a qualified attorney by your side is important. At Thooft Law, our team has helped clients in all stages of criminal proceedings and has experience handling these type of charges. Call us at 651-485-1254 or email [email protected] Check us out on Facebook, Thooft Law, LLC.